United States Withdraws from Trans-Pacific Trade Partnership Agreement

On Monday, January 23rd, President Trump signed an executive order withdrawing the United States from the Trans Pacific Trade Partnership Agreement.

The agreement reached in October of 2016 between Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, the United States, and Vietnam had lost support, although it was viewed as a priority in competing with China.

Trump has also indicated that he will pursue the overhaul of NAFTA.